Birthdays

Birthdays are a great excuse for partying, catching up with friends or just going out for coffee or a meal. With children, it’s all about the gifts, although that might be the case for some grown-ups as well ha ha.

Some people don’t like to celebrate their birthday and would rather nobody remind them of it because they don’t want to admit they are getting older. Before I became sick, my birthday was never a big deal, but since then everything concerning me has changed. Celebrating my birthday has now taken a whole new meaning for me; It has become a time to celebrate life and the joys and blessings that come with it.

In my twenties, I got engaged, married, had four miscarriages, then blessed with my three amazing boys. On my 30th birthday I didn’t feel bad about getting older, I felt, β€œwow, I have accomplished so much!” I made sure I partied hard, ha ha. I spent my thirties raising and running after three very active boys. Time flew by, so on my 40th it hit me like a rocket β€œwhere did my youth go?” Ha ha. It was on that birthday that I decided to start looking after myself and doing activities, such as taking cooking lessons, salsa classes, and having fun with my favorite sport, Soul Cycling. I was full of energy and enjoying life; we had just moved to Bahrain and I was loving our new life, until that horrific day.

I was 44 years young when I was diagnosed with ALS and given 3-5 years to live. So it was when I reached 50 that I really started to be grateful for birthdays. I wanted to make sure my 50th birthday was a day to remember. It was such a huge milestone for me and my family. We made sure to celebrate how precious life is and be grateful for the extended time we have with each other. Since then, I make sure to celebrate my birthday as each year is a reminder that I am winning this battle, and gaining so much wisdom, faith, peace, tranquility and serenity. Which leads me to contentment and happiness.

Last week was my 57th birthday, although I don’t look a day over 47, and my spirit is 37, ha ha. My goal now is to plan for my 60th birthday party which will be a big celebration of life! I can tell you from now it’s going to be a very festive occasion reflecting my strong will, perseverance, determination and love of life. Happy birthday to me!

 

WhatsApp Image 2017-05-18 at 12.49.17 (1)

 

10 thoughts on “Birthdays

  1. Happy Birthday Dearest Sweetest Lannoul,,,, Really,,, you look in your Thirties,,,, Like when we spent great time together with Your Mom, Dad, Samir, Tammy in Cyprus, i still have some photos,,,, Stay young,,, looking forward sharing your 60th, I mean 40th πŸ’πŸ’πŸŒ·πŸ’–πŸ­πŸŽ‚Birthday Big Party, with Randa, Suad,,,,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your love for life always puts a smile on my face Lana! I wish you a life of love, a life of happiness and a life surrounded by your loved ones, near and far. May you be surrounded by grandchildren who will grow up to love the woman we have all come to love and admire. Happiest of birthdays always dear Lana and roll on 60th Birthday ….Lana is waiting to have one hell of a great party xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Birthday girl…So much to look for inshaAllah: occasions, celebrations, achievements ; days , hours, minutes and many happy cherished moments, celebrating your wisely explained “”borrowed time”” as you mentioned before and wining your every day battles.
    May you keep on counting your blessings, embracing God’s grace and holding for ever a grateful heart.
    Happy Birthday dearest Lana.. ❀ ❀ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A very happy birthday to you Dearest Lana ,may your days shine brightly like your smile ,with the warmth of your heart ,may you be abundantly blessed today ,tomorrow and always.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

