Touched by an Angel

Last week I was visited by an angel. The term “Angel” is given to describe a very sweet, kind, or an extremely caring person. It can also be used when describing someone naturally beautiful you might say “she has an angelic face.” The angel that touched my heart is my daughter-in-law, and she fits all the above definitions, with an angelic, face, heart, and soul.

Last week my daughter-in-law Reem, or as I like to call her “Reemo,” came to visit me from Dubai for one week. Nothing to do with her husband, she decided to come alone, without my son. Just stay with me, and have a week of one-on-one time with me, simple mother daughter bonding time. Wow, right? That decision by itself warmed the cockles of my heart ha ha.

We sat for hours talking, getting to know each other while communicating on my “eye-gaze.” We watched chick flick movies, had amazing meals together, we joked and laughed, and even went out for coffee. We enjoyed each other’s company just like any mother and daughter would. The more I got to know her, the more I fall in love with her, Reemo has such a beautiful, sweet soul.

Sometimes I try and join in a conversation, or voice an opinion by spelling out a word, but it is very difficult for people to understand me. Reemo bless her, was determined to learn how to communicate with me, and find a way to understand me. For an entire week she showed such genuine care and determination to understand what I am trying to say, and how to take care of me, all the while being so attentive to my needs. From the minute she arrived she started recording on her phone a video of how I spell every letter in the alphabet, and what gestures and movements I make for certain needs. She created a tutorial video, which she would study all the time, so that by the time she left she could understand me. This is the sweetest, kindest, most compassionate thing anyone has ever done for me.

I was touched beyond words by the love and kindness I was shown by my angel.  I feel as a family we are grateful, and blessed to have her in our family. The willingness to invest the time and effort in finding a way to understand me is heartwarming, and for that reason I felt I was “touched by an angel.”

ZR_1070

(Above photo credit: Ali Saadi)

32 thoughts on “Touched by an Angel

  1. Lana, My Dearest,, How much I enjoyed reading what you wrote today,, about Reem and You, how you both bonded during her very important trip to Amman. Your Ocean wide heart & soul & mind have a big role in all this,, Endless love is what counts with your Family & Friends,,, See you soon,,,,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lana, Habibti,every time i read anything you write, i am reminded of what a caring God we have,and what a remarkable woman, friend,mother,you are.you are blessed because i believe you were determined to feel it and act upon it. Thinking of you is humbling, truly.I am honoured to be your friend. Love Suha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Habibti Lana! What a beautiful piece of writing acknowleging Reem’s beautiful gesture of coming over to spend time with you. As Hala so rightfully said, it takes one good soul to attract another good soul. With love, compassion, understanding and humility, nothing but goodness comes out. God bless you dear Lana and God bless your wonderful family who are your support and love. Big hug 😘❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your beautiful, kind, sweet words, concerning me and my family. you are always so supportive, and I appreciate this so much. God bless,,xoxo

      Like

  4. What a beautiful read 🙂 Family is wonderful but the family we choose is certainly a blessing 🙂 Although I don’t know you, I love reading your blog and it warms my heart to know that such a wonderful person has found such a loving and caring daughter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dearest Lana ,what a beautiful, full of love read ,God bless you and your wonderful family ! The amount of love you are seeing in your life is only a projection to what you have in your heart ! May you always be surrounded with lots of love habibti Lana !

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It sounds like your sweet daughter is a reflection of who you are; sweet, warm and full of love.
    May god bless your lovely family always, she is lucky to have such a wonderful mother-in-law. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh Lana you touched my heart with the beautiful way you described your angel and tears filled my eyes. It is such a blessing to have such a goid kind hearted daughter in law Gid bless her.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you for your beautiful description of lovely niece Reemo (I call her that too!) She is definitely an angel on this Earth! “Auntie” Tanya (Janine’s sister)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This was by far the most beautiful post. Actually that’s what I say about all of them. But this one has a very special place in my heart. Made me extremely emotional. God bless her and you. What a lovely person. Sending you lots of love.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This is the first time I read your writings. Although I don’t know you, nor anyone of your family, but I truly can feel the love, respect, passion and the pure goodness that surround your lovely family.
    May Allah bless you all. This is a great example, a real one, for how to shine throughout difficulties….and spread love all over.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. As you can imagine the tears are rolling! I’m sure that Eemo (our nickname as her baby nephews could no pronounce the R) had an amazing time with her loving, caring and nurturing mother in amman last week. Love you both for your true beauty inside out

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lana, No text today! My words were mixed and lost between tears that emerged loaded with indescribable beautiful feelings!
    May God bless you both… ❤ ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

