Happiness

Happiness comes in many shapes and forms – different things make different people happy; what defines it for me personally might mean something totally different to someone else. Happiness is a choice and I choose to be happy.

Circumstances do not define my happiness; instead my soul and mind are the driving forces behind it. Since I became ill, the scale by which I measure it changed, I became much more appreciative as to what is important in my life. My sense of values also shifted, I realized that I was searching for happiness outside my home, while it was inside of me all the time, I was looking in the wrong place.

The first step to experiencing happiness was acceptance, once I learned to accept my situation, I found serenity and peace that I had never felt before. In an almost contradictory way my illness became a blessing for myself and my family. With acceptance came contentment, being content I think was the key that unlocked the door to my joy. Learning how to be appreciative and grateful for the little, simple things in our life that bring us sanctity is priceless. I had to accept my limitations, and seek to find satisfaction within myself and within my home. My home became my new surrounding, and although I spend lots of time alone, I am never lonely.

These days my happiness comes from my family, if they are in good spirits then that is more than enough for me, I experience it vicariously through them. I feel their joy in so many ways, if they are having a good day then that is reflected on my own day. I also find happiness in compassionate gestures; a kind word, or a, an unexpected kiss (wink) ha ha. Happiness is being surrounded by friends and family, it is a visit from one of my sons or daughter in law, even a simple Skype session with them. Happiness is giving back, it is being told I am inspiring, or helping somebody in need. It could come from listening to a good song, or having a good meditation session. Happiness is waking up with no pain and a goodnight’s sleep.

I might miss some activities in my life like walking, talking or even just feeding myself, but that does not define or dictate whether I am happy or not. Many people might think I am suffering, but believe me I am in a very good place. I look around me, count my blessings, and realize I have so much to be grateful for. I am at peace, I am content, I have found my serenity and I am happy.

 

22 thoughts on “Happiness

  1. Well said dear Lana, Yes, one cannot stumble on happiness, as it is there when we reach within innerself. It is a choice we make, it is acceptance and appreciation especially when love leads the way!
    It is not only your strength and positivity that allowed you to reach what many of us couldn’t Lana, it is also being brilliant and clever to understand that Happiness is an Art.
    My God bless you!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Happiness comes from contentment and love others. I, personally, my happiness BtaatmhoHappiness comes from contentment and love others. I, personally, my happiness comes from inside my house. It could be a Smile from my husband and my children, or a telephone call with my friends. The concept of happiness varies from person to person. Yes it is the company that counts.
    Bless your soul Lana

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Happiness comes from contentment and love others. I, personally, my happiness comes from inside my house. Smile from my husband and my children, or a telephone call with my friends. The concept of happiness varies from person to person and it’s the company what counts.
    God bless your beautiful soul.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Lana, what an inspiration. I come across your blogs through mutual friends and every time I read it, you touch my heart and soul. You make me happy, keep writing 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So wise Aunti 🙂 it is true that happiness is a conscious choice – a choice we must keep making everyday despite of any outside circumstance, and knowing that happiness is in your hands is a beautiful thing. Thanks for the reminder 🙏🏻

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Wawww Lana, positiveness ,contentment , acceptance and love is the key to where you are now.May happiness and love surrounds you for the rest of your journey, happy birthday Scorpio super woman , 🙏🙏🎂🎂😘😘

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think this is actually my favorite one so far… wait, I say that every time! I guess you’re just inspiring! These are extremely VALUABLE words that we should all live by! 🙏🏼💗

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

